As the 2017 mayoralty year draws to an end we can all look back with pride as 2017 holds the highest number of women Mayors ever elected in Victoria’s history.
We stand united in our concern about the unacceptable level of family violence in our communities and we hear the victim’s voices.

We know that the role of gender inequality contributes to the prevalence of domestic violence.
And this is an issue we need ALL to take a united stand on as a community.

We need to ensure that our approaches are evidence-based and based on best practice from across the world.

We need to change the culture that allows violence by sending the right messages to our children; by supporting early childhood and school educators to embed Respectful Relationships into the curriculum from preschool, throughout primary and secondary education.

We ask all levels of government to unite to work together on prevention of violence, as well as providing service to those needing immediate and ongoing support.

Raising awareness of gender equity is essential to changing attitudes towards women that can lead to disrespect and violence.

We are asking that all women politicians at every level of government and from all sides of politics join us and pledge to Take A Stand against Violence affecting women and children.
WE also ask our men colleagues and male community leaders to stand beside us and continue to support our efforts to work together against family violence.

We also thank all of the wonderful service providers and people across the community who are doing so much to address family violence and add our voice to the enormous efforts already being made by so many.
Together we can tackle family violence and make our homes and communities safer places.
Join us in our United effort to say NO to violence against women.

Cr Amanda McClaren Strathbogie Shire Council
Cr Amanda Stone Yarra City Council
Cr Andrea Surace Moonee Valley City Council
Cr Anita Rank Glenelg Shire Council
Cr Anna Speedie Wodonga City Council
Cr Bernadene Voss Port Phillip City Council
Cr Bev Colomb Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
Cr Carolyn Crossley Wellington Shire Council
Cr Catherine Cumming Maribyrnong City Council
Cr Charlotte Bisset Murrindindi Shire Council
Cr Debra Nelson Hindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Denise Massoud Whitehorse City Council
Cr Helen Davidson Moreland City Council
Cr Jami Klisaris Stonnington City Council
Cr Jennifer Anderson Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Jenny O’Connor Indigo Shire Council
Cr Jo Beard Corangamite Shire Council
Cr Kellie O’Callaghan Latrobe City Council
Cr Kim Le Cerf Darebin City Council
Cr Kylie Gaston Warrnambool City Council
Cr Margaret O’Rourke Greater Bendigo City Council
Cr Mary Ann Brown Southern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Mary Delahunty Glen Eira City Council
Cr Michelle Kleinert Manningham City Council
Cr Pamela Clarke Horsham Rural City Council
Cr Pamela Rothfield Bass Coast Shire Council
Cr Rebecca Paterson Monash City Council
Cr Rhonda Sanderson Mitchell Shire Council
Cr Samantha McIntosh Ballarat City Council
Cr Sandra Wilson Hobsons Bay City Council
Cr Sharon Telford Mount Alexander Shire Council
Cr Sophie Ramsey Melton City Council

For further information:
Cr Jenny O’Connor – Indigo Shire
0417 126 409